Where’s My Game

My thoughts about what a MMORPG should be.

Buffs, Spells, And The Abilities You Get

Every game has them.  Every game needs them.  However, not every game goes about it in the same way.  I am talking about the things that we get every time we hear/see that sweet ding.  Traditionally whenever we level we get something.  Stat upgrades, new skills, new attributes, new abilities, new spells, new buffs, just new stuff.  Some games give it to you every level, some give it to you every couple levels, and some just give you new stuff whenever they feel like it.  Age of Conan felt like they just kind of gave you abilities and things whenever it felt like.  I didn’t play all that long, but I played into my 40’s and there was never really a rhyme or reason on how things were given to me.  There would be like six levels with nothing but a few more hit points.  Everquest 2 gave me new things basically every level.  For a while too they gave me new abilities at like half levels, or quarter levels, but I think they did away with that.

My biggest complaint or at least one of my biggest complaints with spells and abilities in the game, is that half of them suck.  I mean what are people thinking with some of the spells/abilities they define as playable.  I can not think of any off the top of my head, but for those MMORPGers out there, you know what I mean.

There are two things I can see that are stopping every spell and ability from being awesome.  One it is hard to come up with 800 or so new spells and abilities that all do different things.  Two, while one ability might be awesome such as blind in PvP, it doesn’t really translate all that well into PvE.  The only solution to this problem is to take the time to think about things, and for the latter, make different sets of spells/abilities that would be used in either, but more realistically would be to tweak how they work in different settings, and/or make sure that both are beneficial to PvE and PvP.

I will be touching more on this one later as this is a big subject, but for now I am just getting my thoughts out there in writing on topics and things that I want to discuss.

Let me know what you would like to hear about, or discuss.

July 3, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

