Where’s My Game

My thoughts about what a MMORPG should be.

No Drop

This one is going to take a lot of posts I feel as well as a lot of time.  I do not know how much I will get out on this topic, but I am sure it will be a lot of rambling mixed in with actual content.  No drop has been around forever and some love it and some hate it, though I am guessing the majority is in the hate it column.  I suppose I am in the hate it column although I know why they do it.  Game creators do not want a level one character to be the uber lord right out of the gate.  That is why there are level restrictions and then just straight only one person will ever wear this piece of armor restrictions.  I am in favor of the level restrictions, but only when I am not currently making a new character.  While I do think there needs to be some restrictions I think no drop is too much.

One thought I have had on no drop is to make a quest out of it or something.  A person would have to complete something in order to have it removed, maybe its making/finding/questing for a salve that can remove it from the wearer.  Make it near impossible, make it whatever you want it to be, but at least give me the option to have it done.

Second, decrease the stats/effectiveness of the gear every time it is swapped.  This can either be an immediate decrease as soon as it is taken off.  Example, I have a chest plate that has 100 AC on it.  As soon as I remove it, the piece loses 10 AC.  If I put it back on, the change is only temporary, but if someone else puts it on, then the piece is permanently lowered to 90 AC instead of 100.  This way might be a little confusing both to the player and the programmer.  I suppose an easier way to go about it, is on the new person wearing it.  It is 100 AC for player A but when player B puts it on, it becomes 90 AC.  This little trend will continue until it is just a piece of junk.  With this option there needs to be some things to keep in mind.  What if the person wearing it puts it on and then in the next ten minutes finds something better to wear?  Should the armor lose it’s 10 AC or should it get it back so that the next person wearing it isn’t at 80 AC when they get it.  That is a good question I just posed for myself.  What do you think should happen with it?  Let me know, leave me a comment.  I am sure after some thought I will give you my answer for it.

July 3, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

