Where’s My Game

My thoughts about what a MMORPG should be.

Ranger Abilities

There are two things that I want a ranger to be able to do.  The first is to be able to use an arrow as a weapon.  The second is to be able to split my bow in two and use it as a melee weapon.

I think it was in Lord of the Rings that Legolas used one of his arrows to stab the eye out of an orc and then turned right around and shot a different orc.  On that same note I should be able to pull an arrow out of the ground or out of a dead body and use it again.  That is if you have to keep ammo on you.

I do not remember where I saw someone break their bow in half and use it to fight with, maybe it was Smash Brothers, at any rate, that was awesome.  The use of your bow as a melee weapon would satisfy my want to always use a ranged weapon to fight with.  Granted I am not shooting my bow, but I am still using my bow to fight with.  I imagine stealthing to lay a trap down or like a bomb and running away, bomb/trap goes off and mob comes running after me.  I turn quickly and fire a couple of shots off slowing the mob down just a little bit.  I stop and turn firing off more arrows until the mob finally reaches me.  I split my bow in two doing a 360 turn slicing at their knees and chest until I finally bring the mob down.  Maybe it sounds like a Prince of Persia move or some single player canned animation move, but who’s to say that I can’t have something cool like that in my MMORPG.

Let me know what you think about those two abilities.  What would you add to them or take away from them?

July 4, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

