Where’s My Game

My thoughts about what a MMORPG should be.

The Rathe Travel Agency

Camping mobs is an all too familiar aspect of EQ.  My longest one ever was playing my bard camping Gorenaire for its acursed white dragon scale.  I camped that dragon for no less than 36 straight hours.  It finally popped and I got my group over there sort of, we logged in one of my friends warriors who solo’d it for me.  After that 36 hours you’d think I’d have gotten something good for it.  Nope, I got a horn maybe and some other junk, but there was no white scale to be found.  I think I might have cried a little bit.  This doesn’t really have all that much to do with my post, but I figured it was a good place to tell that story.

If you didn’t play on The Rathe Server then you probably have no idea what The Rathe Travel Agency is.  The short of it is a group of people that ran a site that controlled the rotations of all the major mobs in the game.  Basically if you were part of a guild that qualified to kill these mobs your guild got put into the rotation.   So like every week or something your guild would have a chance to kill say Rallos Zek.  So on Tuesday at 8 pm, your guild was able to kill that mob without having to camp it for a week and without worry that another guild or group or raid was going to come and steal your mob.  If you couldn’t kill it after like three wipes, I do not remember the exact number or the exact rules, but there was something in effect so that the mob wouldn’t be wasted, the next guild had a shot at it.  Camping mobs as most know is not a fun thing to do.  It is time consuming, boring, and there is always a good shot that another person will come KS you and then run off laughing.

More games need to have this in place, or at least more servers need to have this in place.  It brought order to the game and helped to smooth out some of the chaos.  Let me know what you think about this regulation.  Is it good?  Bad?  What would you change or improve about it.

July 5, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

